Quick Links


Department of Mathematics

Department / Institute Contact Information


Dr. Sanjeev Kumar



Dept. of Mathematics, 
Institute of Basic Science, Khandari, Agra



0562 - 2522420




About Department

Established in 1981. M. Phil. course run in the department is of high repute as the pass outs of these courses have found placements in Universities like University of Delhi, Banasthali (Rajasthan) and Govt. Degree Colleges of U. P. and Engineering and Technological Institutes of the state. Self sufficient and updated library with around 2000 volumes & 10 journals financed by NBHM and a well maintained Computer Lab with INFLIBNET facility. Sufficiently furnished Seminar Hall which caters for the needs of all the departments of the Institute of Basic Science.


S .No




Dr. Sanjay Chaudhary
Dr. Sanjeev Kumar



Associate Professor
Associate Professor



Ph.D. (Mathematics)
M.Phil., Ph. D. (Agra)


Courses Name

M. Sc. (Mathematics)



Updated in 2010



4 semesters


Minimum – Eligibility

Bachelor degree with Mathematics in all the three years and either an average of 55% marks in B. Sc. and intermediate examination or 50% marks in B. Sc. and second division in intermediate


Admission Procedure

Merit basis


No of Seats


M. Phil. (Mathematics)


Updated in 2010


2 semesters + Dissertation


M. Sc. in any branch of Mathematical Sciences with at least 55%; either 55% marks in Graduation and IInd class in aggregate intermediate or 50% marks in each of the two examinations separately.


Written test



Ph.D. (Mathematics)


As per U.G.C. norms









Research Area

Bicomplex Numbers, Bicomplex Analysis, Reliability Theory, Software Reliability
Fluid Dynamics, Fuzzy Mathematics

Achievements Regarding department

(i). Since its inception, the department has produced 40 Ph.D.'s. During this period faculty members have published around 200 research article and have completed 2 minor and 5 major projects of UGC and CSIR. The department has organized 2 teacher's training programme, a conference on Mathematics for Industrial Development( 1994) , National Convention of ORSI(1998), two UGC sponsored Refresher Courses (1999) and two workshop for Hindi terminology. In 2004 the department organized 19th Annual conference of the Ramanujan Mathematical Society, the focal theme being Financial Mathematics. In 2007 department organized 9th Annual Conference of International Academy of Physical Sciences.

(ii). Four Memorial Lectures organized every year - speakers in the recent past include Prof. T. Tanino (Osaka University, JAPAN), Prof. S. S. Khare (NEHU, Shillong, INDIA), Dr. Rekha Bali (HBTI, Kanpur), Dr. S. Ahmad Ali, (BBD NITM, Lucknow) 

(iii). Mathematics Day celebrated every year on 22nd Dec. (Ramanujan's Birthday) - Chief Guests in the recent past include Prof. Arun Verma (Roorkee) and Prof. P. K. Banerji (Jodhpur),Prof N.P. Bhatiya (M.B.C,U.S.America).

(iv). Other visitors in the recent past include Prof. Daniel Wulbert (University of California, USA), Prof. J. Striete (Madera University, GERMANY), Prof. Phan Quac Khanh (International University of Hochiminh City, VIETNAM) and Prof. G. Mastroeni (University of Pisa, ITALY)